Back to top

ERSA Board Members

  • Mamokete Lijane

    Board member

    Mamokete Lijane, is a Fixed Income Sales Trader and Macro Strategist at ABSA Capital with 19 years’ experience as an analyst in financial markets. Prior to Absa she worked at Aluwani Capital Partners as an investment strategist, and Sasfin Securities and Renaissance Capital as a fixed income analyst. Her career spans all areas of non-equity investment research, including macroeconomics, credit and rates on both the buys and the sell sides of the investment business. Mamokete has a deep interest in the intersection between public policy, economics and financial markets.

  • Thobeka Ncanywa


    Prof Thobeka Ncanywa is an Associate Professor and HOD in the Department of Economics at the University of Limpopo. She has expertise in the field of Applied Economics, Public Sector Economics, Monetary Economics, Development Economics, Econometrics, Micro Economics, Education Economics and Macro Economics. She has been involved in projects such as student entrepreneurship development in higher education, resilient futures in transforming mining sector and the water project in Limpopo Province.

  • Christopher Loewald

    Chris is the Head of the Economic Research Department at the South African Reserve Bank, responsible for forecasting, global economic analysis, and the writing of the Monetary Policy Review. He is a member of the SARB’s Monetary Policy Committee and Financial Stability Committee.
  • Nicola Viegi

    Board / Executive Committee
    Deputy Director

    A graduate from the Scottish Doctoral Programme in Economics, he has held positions at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, at the University of KwaZulu-Natal and at the University of Cape Town. His main areas of research are economic policy theory, macroeconomic modeling and regional macroeconomic integration. Current research includes inflation targeting under uncertainty, monetary policy and assets prices, macroeconomic integration in Southern Africa.

  • Johannes Fedderke

    Board / Executive Committee
    Executive Director
    Johannes Wolfgang Fedderke is Director of Economic Research South Africa and Professor at Pennsylvania State University.
  • Elias Masilela


    Executive Chairman of DNA Economics, Commissioner of the 1st & 2nd National Planning Commission. Holds a BA Degree Social Science with the University of Swaziland, MSc in Economic Policy and Analysis with Addis Ababa University as well as several professional certificates with Harvard University.

    Chairman of several influential entities in South Africa, viz. V&A Waterfront, Absa Asset Management and Capital Harvest. He has recently taken up the chairpersonship of the National Task Force on Impact Investing in South Africa.

  • Waldo Krugell

    Nominee of affiliated institutions to ERSA

    Prof. Waldo Krugell is a professor of Economics at the North-West University’s Potchefstroom campus. He holds a M.Sc. degree in Economics from Warwick University and a Ph.D. from the NWU. Waldo’s teaching experience includes two years at the University of South Africa and 12 years at North-West University. The courses that he has taught include Fiscal and Monetary Policy, Development Economics, Economic Analysis and Research Methods.